TTC: an intro

Well, I’ve been inspired to blog about this, instead of just tweeting, by reading my friend Steph’s blog on her TTC journey. We’ve been friends online for like EVER, and I’ve never met her in person, but came close that one time she visited my state but I was HORRIBLY SICK and I’m still really really pissed about that. 😑 Anywhooooo…

So, the Mr. and I decided to TTC a little earlier than we’d originally planned, mainly due to his “I’m never having kids” best friend knocking up his wife. πŸ˜‰ I kid, a little. It wasn’t accidental, as far as I know. They’re due in October, and wouldn’t it be AWESOME if we had a kid close in age to theirs? So we decided to start trying, as soon as I visited my doctor and got the go-ahead. I had been off birth control pills since February just to get it cleared out of my system after 13 years. I started taking prenatal vitamins the day after that conversation, and had a doctor’s appointment on April 20.

I love my doctor. No lecture about my weight, said I was doing everything right and I was perfectly healthy and should conceive no problem. I may be overweight, but I have NEVER been “unhealthy.” My blood pressure andΒ cholesterol are just fine. So, 2 days later, we tried for the first time. It was right around ovulation time, but I think we ended up being a day late. We’ll call that a practice run. I didn’t really expect to get pregnant on the first try.

Therefore I’m going to call this upcoming cycle Cycle 1. I’m due to get my period today or tomorrow, I FEEL like it’s coming, I spotted a tiny bit last night, but it’s not here yet. I want a beer, goddammit. πŸ˜› If I don’t have it when I wake up tomorrow, I’m taking a pregnancy test just in case.

Like Steph, I’m using FertilityFriend.com. Or more often, just the app. I’ve been taking my temp every morning for 2 cycles now, but I’ve been bad about checking my cervical mucus. I’ll do that regularly this coming cycle. I also need to take my basal temp at the same time every day. I’ll be setting an alarm from now on.

So. Changes I’ve made in the prep to TTC:

  • Quit caffeine altogether.
  • Quit alcohol between TTC attempts and period.
  • Started drinking FertiliTea.
  • Using Pre-Seed during intercourse.
  • Quit diet sodas, nitrates, and most soy.
  • Stopped using salicylic acid acne products.

I think that’s everything. Here’s my ridiculous chart from my last cycle due to inaccurate temp-taking:

Image

I guess that’s it for now. Non-ridiculous tips welcome. πŸ˜‰

13 thoughts on “TTC: an intro

  1. Whoah, that chart is crazy!! I’ve known women whose charts were a bit strange after the first month off HBC, so that might be it, too. πŸ™‚ My first was pretty wild, too, and I had been off the pill for years! (Last one was February 2010 — we’ve been charting to TTA.)

    Anyway, I don’t really have any tips at the moment! Just don’t go crazy and let it happen. πŸ™‚ This is our fifth cycle trying, and I’m a bit disenchanted at this point; like you, I didn’t expect to get pregnant the first month trying, but I certainly expected it the second or third cycle. I actually had a chemical my third cycle, so that was a major bummer, too.

    So glad you made a blog! I just started following it, and I’m looking forward to seeing how it goes! Good luck!!

    • I’m so worried that’ll be us. I mean, I know it’s not the end of the world, but month after month of negatives isn’t going to go well with my depression. Best of luck hun, you guys SO deserve a baby!

      And yeah, the chart is a little wonky mainly due to me taking my temp at different times. Last month’s was far more normal. Gonna be much more serious about it now.

      • You guys do, too! I hope it happens sooner rather than later. πŸ™‚

        FWIW, I did read a lot about how hard it is to actually get pregnant — at our age, we only have a 20% chance each month of it sticking. When I think about that and the average time it takes to get pregnant (6-12 months!), it makes me feel a bit better. The constant negatives are bad for my GAD, too, but it’ll work out in the end.

        My OCD, on the other hand, is LOVING the numbers game. XD LOL

        Awesome! That’s the main indicator for post-ovulation, at least; once you start tracking CM, you’ll also get good insight before ovulation as well. I’m not tracking CM this month (again, Cycle of Apathy, ha!), but it’s been helpful in the past. Oh… and green tea helps increase the amount of CM, by the way. πŸ˜‰

      • Awesome, okay. πŸ™‚ Careful with the RRL tea… I’ve read you shouldn’t have it after ovulation as it tones the uterus and makes for better contractions, obviously not good if you want a sticky bean. Better safe than sorry. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

