Cycle 12, CD23, DPO7

My chart is all OVER the place, and I’m not sure I even ovulated because my fertility monitor never detected it. I just gave up checking after a while because those pee sticks are expensive and it’s not like we’re trying to conceive right now anyways.

So on March 29 I had blood drawn to check how my thyroid is doing on meds. The result was yes, it’s improved, but they also noticed my prolactin was too high. So they put me on ANOTHER med for that. High prolactin can inhibit ovulation.

Today I had my blood drawn to see if that new med is helping, and it is. Basically they told me that whenever I want to start TTC again, that I can, and just call them to get started on progesterone. So many medications. I hate it. I don’t take a lot of drugs (other than copious ibuprofen during my period, and daily vitamins) and I’ve been eating so cleanly lately that it feels wrong to be pumping myself full of hormones. But, my hormones are off, and no amount of food can change that (though some may beg to differ) so I dutifully take my drugs and hope it helps in the end.

Every time the nurses mention trying to conceive again, I remind them it won’t be till July. It’ll be after my sister’s wedding (which I WILL drink at) and 6 months after my last miscarriage. I’m in no hurry. In fact, I’m pretty much petrified to start trying again. But I know I can get through it, and hopefully enjoy it, and I’ve given myself another year to try before we call it quits. We’ll just adopt after that. There’s only so much I can take.

Starting in July, I’ll check for ovulation in three different ways (monitor, OPK, basal temp) and start progesterone 3 days after ovulation. I’ll continue the levothryroxine for my thyroid, and the bromocriptine for my prolactin, and the nurse told me to stop that drug if I get a positive pregnancy test. Till then, nothing new will be happening. I’m finally done with tests. I think I had my blood drawn 6 or 7 times in the last 2 months. I had dye injected into my uterus and I had a transvaginal ultrasound. I’m done. Until I get pregnant and they start poking me again.

FertChartApril

Leave a Reply

