Pregnancy 19w6d

Dear Inara,

I can’t believe I’m almost halfway to meeting you. I never thought this day would come. The day I found out I was pregnant with you, I thought I was doomed to lose another pregnancy. I didn’t know if my heart could take being broken again. I did everything in my power to keep you. Medications, blood draws, uncomfortable exams…it was all worth it. I would have gone through anything.

Now, here we are. 20 weeks tomorrow. I’ve seen you wiggle and kick on the ultrasound. I’ve heard your heartbeat. Soon, I hope to feel you move inside me. I read and sing to you every night. I hope you remember hearing these things and take comfort in them after you’re born. Pregnancy isn’t comfortable, but I’m luckier than most in that it hasn’t been that bad. It wouldn’t matter if it was; it would still be worth it.

I can’t stop buying things for you. Cute leggings, ruffly diaper covers, soft blankets, adorable toys…I want you to have everything. Once I have you, I’ll never need anything again. So please, stay safe in there. Grow and develop and rest. In about four and a half months, you’ll be in mine and Daddy’s arms, where you were meant to be.

Love,
Mama

Small red heart with transparent background

Leave a Reply

