Pregnancy 22w6d

I feel like I’ve been blogging a ridiculous amount this month, but great things keep happening! Yesterday was the first time I REALLY felt her kick. Distinctly enough that I’m 99% sure it was her. And it keeps happening now. I’M SO EXCITED!!!

I’ve been waiting so long for this. My anterior placenta has been in the way of me feeling her when most moms do. The defining moment was when I was napping yesterday and hubby knocked over a few boxes in the baby’s room. I awoke with a start, heart pounding, and felt KICK. Now we know how to get her going. Scare the crap out of me! 😉

Since then, I’ve felt her several times, a few kicks each session. I didn’t want to get out of bed this morning (okay, technically afternoon) because I just wanted to lie there and continue to feel her kick. It’s amazing and reassuring and glorious.

We finished pretty much everything we could in her room yesterday. Just waiting on the bookcase and toy chest we ordered, plus I need to finish framing the art. I also have a huge order from Geek-a-Bye Baby on the way, because everything that woman makes is perfect. 😉 And I want to get some shelves for the wall for the figurines that I want in there but that aren’t necessarily baby-safe. I’d say it’ll be 2 months, maybe a little less, before the room is DONE. And then I’ll have a baby shower and add to the chaos. 😉

Last night, I stood in her room, gazing at the crib. And I finally cried. Hubby walked in and I clung to him, sobbing. I’ve barely cried my whole pregnancy. After all the ultrasounds and tests and heartbeats, it was the crib that did me in. This is real. This is happening. Her room is a real nursery now. There is a place for this baby in our home.

Of course, there had to be a little downside after such a great day. I had the worst heartburn of my life last night. Fun! Then after Tums helped that, I just couldn’t stay comfortable. Hips hurt when I slept in bed, legs hurt and hands fell asleep when I slept in the recliner. It’s going to be a long 17 weeks, but as always, 100% worth it!

Crib

Leave a Reply

