Pregnancy 25w4d

We’ve booked our next 3D ultrasound! We just wanted to do one more so some family can come, so my MIL and sister are planning on it. I’ll be almost 32 weeks at that point, so the picture should be great. I can’t wait!

If you’re curious, no ultrasound can harm a baby, not even an elective ultrasound. This post provides some great information: http://www.webmd.com/baby/ultrasound

The only reason it says to avoid 3D ultrasounds is “because untrained personnel may provide inaccurate or harmful information.” The ultrasound studio I use ONLY has trained techs, and is an accredited ultrasound imaging facility. They require that you are already under a doctor’s care for your pregnancy, and will NOT diagnose anything. If they suspect a problem, they forward the information directly to your OB. Therefore, there is no chance of harm to my baby in any way.

To be even safer, I spread them out. I had my last 2D ultrasound at 18 weeks, and a 3D ultrasound at 24 weeks. I’ll have a 2D ultrasound at 28 weeks, and a 3D ultrasound at 32 weeks. I’m not going every week, which some women do. All I’m doing is two elective ultrasounds that can really involve my loved ones in the process.

I just wanted to clear that up.

Leave a Reply

