Pregnancy 25w5d

I met my doula today! Rene is super awesome. We talked for an hour and a half. It’s just like having a friend that’s way more experienced in childbirth than I am. We talked about my hopes and fears for birth, and how I want her to coach me. I decided on gentle vs. tough love because I’m SUPER sensitive and cry easily. I’ll likely get an epidural, unless I am completely freaking out, in which case I’ll get IV drugs to calm me down, but that’s unlikely. I’m not quite as afraid of birth as I used to be, but it’s still a huge unknown. No matter how much I read or how much it’s described to me, it’s still something I won’t really be prepared for until I experience it myself.

We went over the birth plan I had printed out. My choices are pretty basic. I want minimal intervention, except an epidural later, but if I need a C-section, well, it happens. I’d like to avoid it if possible. I want to bond skin-to-skin and breastfeed right away, but that’s my hospital’s policy anyway. I want my husband, sister, and doula in the room. I want my baby to stay with me, unless at the time I decide I’m just too exhausted and need a break. I’m bringing music and my own birthing clothes. That’s about it. The rest I’ll pretty much play by ear, since a “birth plan” usually flies out the window once the actual labor starts. You never know what will happen.

In other news, um…my boob is leaking. I know it’s normal, but it feels totally weird. I guess I’ll start wearing breast pads when I’m wearing nicer clothes, unless the leaking gets ridiculous. I don’t want to have to wear the pads every day for the next 3 months, and beyond! Good to know my ducts work at least. 😉 It IS normal…right?

Honestly, I really can’t wait to breastfeed! My doula loved it and is very enthusiastic about breastfeeding. I’m looking forward to it a lot, despite all the problems that could pop up. I’m determined to do it.

photo (1)

5 thoughts on “Pregnancy 25w5d

    • It’s amazing what a difference it makes when you’re diagnosed and start medication! My PCP said my thyroid was fine, but thankfully my RE recognized the problem.

  1. Just found your blog through @the2weekwait and @fertilityauthor. I’m new to blogs, I’m new to twitter, and I’m new to attempting to conceive (See? I didn’t even use the proper acronym) so I’m going to read through and enjoy! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

