Pregnancy 26w5d

Welp…I failed my 1-hour glucose test. 😦 She said it was “slightly elevated,” so I have to take a 2-hour test in the Quincy office, in the morning, which will be with rush hour traffic. Boo. Luckily (?) we’re getting a blizzard tomorrow through Thursday, then I’m away on vacation from Friday to Monday, so it’s going to have to wait.

I can’t say I’m very surprised. I haven’t been eating nearly as well as I would have liked. I’m having a lot of food aversions, and exhaustion is making it hard to put effort into cooking. Most of my meals consist of carbs and cheese. Even when I try to be healthy, like Greek yogurt (fruit flavored) and Belvita biscuits for breakfast, I’m still having sugar. I haven’t been mowing down on candy all day or anything, but it’s in my cereal (even the healthy kinds) and OJ and whatnot. I try to have a salad now and then, and veggies with dinner, but I haven’t been consistent. I’m disappointed with myself, but it’s been hard. I can’t force myself to eat something I don’t feel like eating; it would make me nauseous.

So I’ll have to deal with whatever comes. If I do have GD, it’ll force me to make changes whether I have the energy or not. At least it’s only another 13 weeks or so of pregnancy.

Backing up…we had a busy day on Saturday, driving over two hours each way to meet up with fellow geeky (Browncoat) friends for Shindig at a hotel with an indoor pool. Swimming felt sooooo good. I didn’t feel Inara move much that day. I slept horribly that night, even though I was exhausted, and Sunday I just felt like crap. I still wasn’t feeling her move much and I started to panic a bit. Later, after a nap, I felt better and she started to move more, so that was a relief. She’s been completely normal today, wiggling and kicking like crazy. Phew.

I’ve officially memorized these two books that I’ve been reading to her almost every night since about 16 weeks:

Books

And I mean COMPLETELY memorized. I don’t even open them any more. I just lie in bed each night, recite them to her, and sing “You are my sunshine.” I guess my theater degree has come in handy. 😉 Though I may be slightly sick of them, I love creating a tradition with her already, and I hope that reading them to her gives her comfort out of the womb too.

We’re about to get hit by a blizzard that could bring us anywhere from 5″ to 16″+ of snow. We’ll see what happens. 😛

Leave a Reply

