Pregnancy 27w6d

I had my 2-hour glucose test this morning. Thankfully, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I was expecting. I needed to fast after midnight, but the last I ate was at around 7 last night, so I was REALLY empty. Got up at 7, showered, and hit the road at 7:30. Took me 45 minutes to get there and the appointment was 8:30, so that was good. Hit quite a bit of rush hour traffic. Felt a little nauseous from not eating.

I tried the door and it was locked, but a person from billing let me in. She said they aren’t open till 9. I told her the appointment was with the lab and she showed me where to go. Phew. Started with a finger prick, then a blood draw from my left arm for my fasting levels. Then I got the glucose drink again, lime this time. Downed it in about 3 minutes, then I got to sit in the waiting room for an hour. Luckily I’d brought my Kindle, so I started on Divergent, which is really good and made the time fly.

Then I got my second blood draw, in my right arm this time. Back to the waiting room for another hour, then my last blood draw, in my left arm again. Then I was done! I had brought crackers and a Luna bar and ate them on the way home. I was hungry, but not nauseous or headachey at that point. Crashed as soon as I got home and slept for 4 hours. Got up and ate leftover dim sum. Feeling back to normal now.

So that wasn’t nearly as bad as it was for some people, and I’m very grateful. Now I just have to wait on the results. =/

Leave a Reply

