Pregnancy 28w1d

I DON’T HAVE GESTATIONAL DIABETES! WOOT!

I’m very very excited about that. I don’t think I could have dealt with it on top of this abdominal pain. So I just had an OB appointment, and I told the nurse about my pain. She tested my urine for kidney stones, which I hadn’t considered, but it came up completely clear of any kidney problems. Phew. Blood pressure is still awesome, weight gain is fairly on track.

Then I talked to my doc about the pain, and predictably, I started to cry, and she felt so bad. I had to tell her to just ignore it and I’d stop eventually. If you keep going “Oh I’m so sorry! I feel so bad!” I’ll just cry more. 😛 So she said my pain on the left is round ligament pain, the lower abdomen is possibly some pubic muscle separation, and both are exacerbated by having a big baby. The maternity support belt I ordered should help, I should try to walk more (it does hurt less when I’ve been moving gently), and no heavy lifting and limited bending. That’s all I can do for now.

I have another appointment in 2 weeks, then she’ll assess if I need an ultrasound at that time. I really really hope I’m not in this much pain for the next 3 months. I know pain comes with pregnancy, but this is leaving me in tears. And D’OH, I just realized I forgot to ask her about my carpal tunnel and my oral thrush. Well, I know I should just wear wrist braces for the carpal tunnel, and I guess I’ll just ask my primary doc about the oral thrush. Three 2-week Nystatin treatments, plus one more attempt with gentian violet, and it’s still there. I just don’t even know what to do any more.

Despite all that, I’m really not doing badly. I know it could be so much worse. I’m grateful I don’t have any major complications. My baby and I are healthy. I couldn’t ask for anything more.

il_570xN.417390828_e4c5

Leave a Reply

