Pregnancy 29w1d

The other day, I got the best mail ever. A baby shower invite…to my shower!!!

InviteCensored

I’ve been looking forward to this (and having a baby of course) most of my life. Like a wedding, it’s a rite of passage. I’m a hopeless romantic, and while it may not seem very feminist of me (though I consider feminism to mean having choices), getting married and becoming a mom have always been my lifelong dreams. Baby showers in my family are very big and fun. It’s not about the gifts; it’s about the love, it’s about being initiated into motherhood, it’s about support.

My sister, who was my maid of honor, is throwing the party and chose the invites. I love them. She apologized for the pink, but it doesn’t bother me at all. I’m slowly getting over my pink aversion. It was mainly due to my ex-boyfriend’s obsession with pink on me, and the years of emotional abuse that relationship entailed. I’m reclaiming pink. I refuse to hate it. I don’t LOVE it, but it’s not an anathema any more. šŸ˜‰

The shower will be outer-space-themed to match her bedroom, and I love the little outer space mobile. So cute! It’s also at my house, at my insistence, because it’s closer for a lot of my friends, and we won’t have to transport gifts. Plus our house is plenty big, and we have a nice yard. I hope the weather is nice so the kids can run around!

Oh! That’s exactly a month from today! Sweet!

Last night, I had choir rehearsal. I skipped last week due to the pain I was in, and I didn’t have my belt or cane yet. I debated going last night or quitting for the semester. I was afraid of the drive, the uncomfortable pews (non-religious choir, we just happen to rehearse in a church), standing, etc. I cried over it, trying to decide. In the end, I went, and I’m glad I did. I was in pain, but it was bearable. I honestly think my hormones were making the decision tougher than anything else. šŸ˜› There are only a few more rehearsals, then the concert on May 4. I think I can make it. I also will sit during the concert. I love singing and don’t want to give it up. I also hate quitting, and I just want to make it to the concert.

Hubby and I are going to a 3-day gaming convention starting tomorrow (coming home each night; it’s local). He emailed the organizers and got me a medical pass. I am SO grateful. Hopefully I won’t need to use it much, as I feel unfair skipping lines, but it’s nice to have the option if I need it. I’ll be wearing my support belt, wrist braces, compression socks, and using my cane. We have the folding stool and are bringing water and snacks. Fingers crossed I make it, because we look forward to this every year. Can’t wait!

I almost forgot! I attended my first La Leche League meeting yesterday. It was awesome. I was worried I wouldn’t fit in, but there were plenty of tattoos and piercings. šŸ˜‰ And plenty without! I like variety in a group. There was also one other first-time expectant mom, and a second-time expectant mom with the same due date as me. There were at least six toddlers and four babies present. It was wonderful. The discussion was great and I felt very welcome. I look forward to continuing to meet with such a great support group.

Leave a Reply

