Pregnancy 29w6d

Hoooo boy, what a weekend! Our 3-day gaming convention (PAX East) was a challenge, but I made it through. We didn’t spend nearly as long there each day as we have in the past, but I did fairly well.

On Friday, we were there for over 10 hours. That pretty much exhausted me for the rest of the weekend, but I wouldn’t have missed any of those panels. One was on gamer parenting: the benefits of kids playing games, how to limit your child’s game time, how to ensure the games your child is playing are age-appropriate, etc. Lots of good advice. The second panel was something we go to every year, “Pitch Your Game.” It’s hilarious to hear what people come up with. Lastly we went to the Cards Against Humanity panel, helped suggest new cards, and got an exclusive expansion pack the next day of those cards. Win!

Saturday, we had planned on going in earlier, but I woke up and my body went NOPE. So we skipped the first panel we’d planned on and I got a couple more hours of sleep. We went in and saw the third round of the Omeganaut competition (they played Towerfall, which looks SO FUN) and a Geek & Sundry panel. In between, we found and hung out with friends. We were there for about 7 hours.

Sunday, I pushed myself to get out the door in the morning, because the last day is the shortest. We found my favorite web comic artist and bought a sketch, checked out the arcade gaming room, then watched a live D&D game, which was hilarious. Hung out with friends, got a hug from one of my dear Twitter friends that I only see each year at PAX, then watched the Omegathon finale. That was about a 6-hour day.

BlISziCIgAA1uGC

I was in a LOT of pain at the end of each day, but I’m glad I went. In the end, I got lots of exercise, got out of the house, and had fun. One of my biggest challenges was long stretches of walking, because my hand using the cane would go numb. Another challenge is they changed some women’s rooms to men’s rooms this year because there’s supposedly SO many more men (even though it’s pretty much a 60/40 split), and I couldn’t always walk the extra distance. Luckily each men’s room had a family bathroom at the entrance, so I just used that. I would have been screwed otherwise. Not happy with that change, PAX! We brought plenty of snacks and water, but I found myself not drinking as much as I should because getting to a bathroom was such an inconvenience.

On the upside, I was able to get a medical badge, which meant I got priority seating at each panel and didn’t have to wait in line. That was a godsend, so thank you for that, PAX! I also could have used a wheelchair if I wanted, but it’s so crowded, it would have been a pain to navigate. Plus hubby would’ve had to push, as I don’t think my arms or hands would’ve been up to it.

Hubby took Monday off to recover (trust me, it’s needed!) and instead of relaxing all day, we ended up going shopping for a rocking chair, which involved even more walking, lol. Then I was going to take it easy today, but ended up driving to half a dozen stores in search of giant Easter eggs to put t-shirts in for my nieces and nephews. Plus it was pouring all day so that was pretty miserable. TOMORROW though, tomorrow I will rest a bit. Except for putting away laundry. And going to choir.

30 weeks tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

