Bedroom Transition

It’s so hard to find time to blog! There are so many other things to do while she naps. I’m crossing my fingers she stays asleep long enough for me to finish this (and my lunch!).

So a few weeks ago, I transitioned Inara to her own bedroom (she was just over 2 months old). I felt that all our little noises were waking her up, like when we went to the bathroom or my husband got ready for work in the morning. It’s been…varied. Some nights she sleeps fairly well. Some nights she’s up every hour. I don’t think it’s due to her being in the crib, more just usual sleep problems for a baby her age. At first I was going to nurse her in the rocking chair in her room, but it was super uncomfortable, so we moved the recliner in there. We have a great video monitor but I was kind of glued to it the first few nights and didn’t sleep well. Now I’ve learned to just check on her via video before I go to sleep and when she makes noise, and to keep the screen off the rest of the time.

We had a fan in there for white noise but she sleeps so well in her swing during the day with its music playing, so I set up an iPod in there last night. I started with Disney music but the volume was too varied, so I switched to a Mozart lullabies album. I think I’ll get some more classical lullabies to add to it, as regular classical can get loud at times. She seemed to sleep fairly well, though I did take her to bed with me in the morning as I often do. She pretty much sleeps 1/2 to 3/4 in her room, and the rest with me, though sometimes she doesn’t sleep with me at all. She still can sleep on her own, so I’m not worried about it. I love our snuggly time. 🙂

It’s a little more tiring to have to go to her room every time she wakes up, but it’s maybe 10 feet down the hall, so it’s not bad. I think my husband and I sleep better overall with her in her own room, and eventually I think she will too. She still can’t sleep without a swaddle, but if she wakes up in it, she fights it until she gets her arms free so she can suck on her hands. Putting her to sleep without it hasn’t worked, but I’m sure she’ll transition out of it soon. The Merlin Magic Sleepsuit has been suggested to me, but it’s a bit pricey when I’ve already invested in all these swaddles. I do have a few Woombies I got on sale when Isis Parenting went out of business, but all they had was the 14 lb. size so she’s not big enough yet. I miiiiight buy one smaller one and try it out.

I’m looking forward to sleep getting a little better. I don’t get much. She fights napping during the day, but will be too overtired to sleep if she doesn’t. We’re still working all the kinks out together. She’s almost three months old now, and I’ve heard her sleep should improve soon. We’ll see. 😉

IMG_0627

Leave a Reply

