One Year of Change

October 15th is Infant and Pregnancy Loss Remembrance Day. Also, (ironically? poetically?) it’s the day I found out I was pregnant with Inara.

I will never forget. I was a little late, we hadn’t been trying but we hadn’t been preventing, but I never thought…and there it was. Two lines. I panicked. I couldn’t go through another miscarriage. But…maybe I wouldn’t? Maybe I could save this one?

I ran downstairs to where my husband was watching the news before work. I held out the test and stated “Oh crap.” He started to smile, checked my reaction, saw I was feeling mixed, and smiled anyways. He was happy. We could be happy.

And with medication, we were. She was saved. My rainbow baby happened. I will never forget October 15.

IMG_1302

Leave a Reply

